The Waiting Game

2023.05.06

Waiting for Help

As explained in my last post, I have fatigue and pain that prevents me from leaving the house when I want to. My attendance at school is fucked as a result. My school has accommodations for such instances, but they're reserved for those with a diagnosis. So, as I felt my health going downhill, I scheduled an appointment with my doctor... and the soonest I could get was over a month away. By the time my doctor and I will discuss just the symptoms of what's going on with me, it'll be too little too late to get assistance for the current term.

Waiting for Food

Speaking of assistance, my food assistance renewal got denied! Why? Well, I made the mistake of thinking a simple bundle of documents could be mailed within, say, three days? Maybe a week? They never got my proof-of-need. So now it's a matter of waiting to see if they ever get what I sent out or if I have to go through the whole application process all over again.

Waiting for My Name

I submitted a notorized application to get my name and gender marker changed on my birth certificate. Thank the fucking lord my state no longer requires a court order for such things, but even so, my nerves are still wracked. It's been a week and I still haven't gotten a response. Do these things just take that long? Did my application get lost in the mail? And then there's the possibility that my application could be denied for whatever reason. I hope I get an answer soon. I can't be re-entering the workforce under my old name... if I can even work at all. Ugh.

God, I hate complaining so much.

What else can I do, though? It feels like I have to wait for my life to continue. Time ticks on, yet my life is on pause. I know I won't be on hold forever, but the wait is like... well, it's like the queue I had to stand in to get into Kumoricon before I had the sense to preorder my pass online. It's long, annoying, and the heat makes it so much worse.

What can make the wait bearable?

The answer is simple if you're a heathen: whatever makes you happy! :3 Lately I've been listening to Orgia's music. She had the voice of a fucking angel. It sucks when you get into a musician only to remember they're dead and will never make beautiful music ever again. At least we have these permanent (at least, you archivists BETTER make sure they're permanent) records so we can appreciate them even centuries after they're gone. That's one of my favourite things about technology. Our concept of memory will never be the same now that people post their entire lives online. Once they're gone, that piece of them will hopefully remain. I want these pieces to remain. I hope, when I die, that people come across my website and form a one-sided bond with my online corpse.

Something else that cheers me up is my sister's cat! He loves my room and sleeping on my bed. He snores VERY loudly! You can hear it across the house! It's kinda freaky!